Accountability alarms

Wake up or your friends will

Some days, it’s hard to wake up. One day last week I was up until 2 or 3 in the morning and had to get up at 6, and I ended up sleeping in until 7. It’s annoying when this happens, especially as someone who thrived on an alarmingly small amount of sleep in college (okay, maybe thrive isn’t the right word).

As I prepared last evening for another full week of work, meetings, and shipping a lot of coffee table books, I thought about how early I will need to get up some days this week. Generally, I’m good to wake up to my alarm, but an extra layer of motivation can benefit anyone.

This got me thinking… what if there was a feature to create “accountability partners” for waking up early? When your alarm starts going off, you would have a predetermined amount of time to wake up. If you fail to wake up, your friends get hit with an alarm.

The “unhingedness” of this feature banks on the implementation. If you can set accountability alarms without asking the other person, this is a wild feature. However, if you have to “invite” your friend to help you wake up, this becomes a useful tool rather than a deranged piece of tech.

Have a friend who always sleeps through their alarm? Send them this newsletter.

Join the conversation

or to participate.