Apple Health IBS check in

Don't suffer alone

IBS is no joke. Seriously though, apparently 25 to 45 million people in the United States suffer from less than docile bowels. I don’t think I suffer from this, but my tummy does hurt a bit after how many Cheez-Its I ingested last night (the extra toasty ones are sublime).

Of the many side effects associated with IBS, a well-known one is more time spent on the can. This concept harkens back memories of an agency I used to work at that did not have anywhere near enough bathrooms to match the number of employees they had. To make matters worse, we had one particular employee who thought it appropriate to spend 15, 20, or even 30 minutes in the one stall the men’s room had.

I imagine a world where Apple Health can detect people who are on the can for too long and prompt them to consult a physician (thus implying they have IBS). This would snap perfectly healthy people out of mindlessly scrolling social media, and help people who may need to consult a doctor.

This concept is more than a bit passive-aggressive, so I highly doubt it ever sees the light of day.

Have a friend who’s always on the can? Send them this newsletter.

Join the conversation

or to participate.