Beat trivia to snooze your alarm

Or suffer the consequences

I’ve been in New York all week, and while I’m having a lot of fun seeing old (and new) friends, I’m not getting much sleep. The morning alarms have been particularly painful the last two days, though I’m trying to make the most out of my time in the city.

I was thinking about iOS alarms and how dangerously easy it is to snooze for just a few more minutes. This got me thinking about ways that you could add more friction to this experience. One idea I had is the concept of “alarm trivia”.

This would force you to use your brain immediately after you wake up. To add to this, a user could be punished if they answer incorrectly. For example, a wrong answer may result in the alarm persisting for a set amount of time.

I could see trivia fanatics enjoying an experience like this, but I’d venture to guess most people don’t want to be quizzed as they wake up.

Have a friend who crushes it at trivia? Send them this newsletter.

Join the conversation

or to participate.