Coinbase option to undo it all

Fix your onchain mistakes

Happy April Fools Day to all who celebrate. In a way, every day is April Fools for me, as I’m in the business of creating satirical interfaces. A few brands approached me about making a satirical concept. I decided to partner with Coinbase Wallet for the big day.

Coinbase is a great place to buy crypto. Coinbase Wallet is the place to swap, bridge, send, and receive crypto from others. There are also rewards for completing certain actions. I’ve used it a bit and the app is pretty slick.

For many, crypto has a bad reputation due to a few bad actors (looking at you FTX). A nascent technology will always have charlatans, but it will also have people who want to use the tech for good. Whether that’s through low transaction fees when sending payments across borders or protecting against title fraud, there are many ways where crypto can provide tangible value.

I worked with the Coinbase Wallet team to create my first concept “onchain”. That means you can mint it as an NFT. I won’t turn all of my concepts into NFTs. In my opinion, most NFTs are speculative assets. However, learning about new technology is something I find important and valuable. I’m not asking you to mint this, and I won’t create a full NFT collection or token. For crypto enthusiasts, this is a low-lift way to support my work, but no pressure either way.

Now on to today’s concept. Many people got into crypto in the run-up of 2017 or 2020/2021. People who did not understand what they were buying got burned by this. It’s easy to feel regret when you make a bad trade. This got me thinking… what if there was a simple way to “undo” actions you take on the blockchain? You could revert all of your actions or undo one bad trade.

If this existed, I’m guessing a lot of people would slam that undo button, but alas, we have to live with our choices. At least for now.

Have a friend who’s way too deep into crypto? Send them this newsletter.

Join the conversation

or to participate.