DoorDash debt collector

Take care of those Venmo charges

People who drag their feet on paying you back are the worst. I dealt with this back when I had roommates, and now sometimes I deal with it when invoicing. I wish people would just submit payment when I request it from them. I am grateful that most friends and people I work with are good to submit payment promptly.

Some friends do need a gentle nudge to pay me. For them, I wonder how we might incentivize prompt payment. When you owe a debt, eventually they send a collections agency after you. Scary stuff.

This got me thinking… what if there was a feature on DoorDash where you could upsell people on a debt collector for outstanding Venmo requests? Your Dasher is already out and about, and if there was a way to integrate the two apps plus contacts & location, it’s feasible that this could be built.

To be fair, this would significantly erode the quality of your relationship with the person who paid you. It also puts the Dasher in an awkward position. There is some utility here, but I think it’s more problematic than beneficial.

Have a friend you’d use this on? Send them this newsletter.

Join the conversation

or to participate.