DoorDash real-time analytics

Watch your food get soggy

I understand the appeal of DoorDash. If you don’t feel like leaving the house, pushing a button and having someone magically appear with food is awesome. The cost associated with this is less awesome, but that’s life I guess.

I ordered Indian food via DoorDash this weekend and I have to say the quality was great all things considered. Some foods travel better than others. I remember vividly ordering from a fried chicken place during the pandemic. The sandwiches had essentially disintegrated by the time the food arrived. It was not good.

This got me thinking about the detailed insights we have when tracking orders. Customers expect to see nearly real-time data on where a package or food order is at all times. This got me thinking… what if DoorDash provided real-time analytics into the quality of your order? It could dynamically update the sogginess, heat, and even quantity of food (assuming your driver takes a bite or two).

The biggest problem with this feature is the source of the data. The Dasher would have to manually update the app unless the food had built-in tracking. This would negatively impact order time. The food would get even soggier (I think that’s a word?). It’d also frustrate whoever ordered the food.

Suffice it to say, I doubt this gets shipped. A Dasher’s job is hard enough as it is.

Have a friend who uses DoorDash all the time? Send them this newsletter.

Join the conversation

or to participate.