Eternal push notifications

They just won't go away

The red dot with a number in it is one of the most ubiquitous and anxiety-inducing design patterns that has become normalized in modern society. It stinks. I feel a compulsion to try and get these numbers to zero otherwise I feel a very small level of stress.

One workaround I’ve found for this is to try and keep my phone in a greyscale mode more often than not. It is a bit hacky but overall a great way to reduce screentime if it’s something you struggle with.

An X(Twitter?) user DM’d me an incredible suggestion for a concept that I wish I could take credit for: Push notification indicators that don’t disappear even if you reach 0 missed notifications.

If this existed, I’d probably throw my phone into a lake. I wouldn’t actually, but this would drive me insane. It’s anxiety-inducing for no reason. Would definitely get a reaction out of many iPhone users if it was ever implemented though.

Have a friend who would enjoy a silent ride? Send them this newsletter.

Join the conversation

or to participate.