Find My Friends see who they're with

Exposing cheaters and exclusive friends everywhere

If you’ve read this newsletter for a while, you know I think Find My Friends is a weird product. It feels invasive. The only “Friend” who gets to find me is my wife. Other than that, if you need to locate me just call or text. Having someone’s location 24/7 is weird.

I’m aware this might be me getting old and out of touch with how the youths use tech, but that’s how it goes.

Anyways, since millions of people use Find My Friends with many people, I wonder how it might be used in unconventional ways. In the past, I’ve explored a Do Not Find My Friends concept as well as an option to see how many times someone checked your location.

Another interesting idea came to mind… what if there was an option to see when someone close to you is with another iOS user, but you’re not sure who they are? This would be an unhinged way to expose friends who are excluding or even out someone who’s cheating on you.

Given that people are wild and would abuse this like there’s no tomorrow, I can’t see a world where this exists. If it did, it would cause a lot of relational strife and make for some interesting stories.

Have a friend who has to know where you are at all times? Send them this newsletter. https://sorens.beehiiv.com/

Reply

or to participate.