Google Maps option to give speeding tickets

Don't drive angry

Yesterday, I was cut off by an aggressive Prius driver. Why is it always a Prius? It’s either that or a Tesla… strange. Anyway, an old version of myself would’ve been bothered by this, but in the last few years, I’ve made a point to drive in a much calmer and laid-back fashion. We’re all going to get where we’re going. If you get there 45 seconds before me, good for you. It’s not worth the stress.

That said, some people drive so far over the speed limit that I wish I could do something about it… This got me thinking… what if I could? You could imagine a Google Maps feature where anyone can report someone else for speeding based on their license plate number. In a perfect world, this system would never be abused and it might help police dispatch offices to assign tickets more effectively.

We do not live in that world. Alas, drivers would use this system constantly to troll and harass each other. Some people might dole out tickets because they’re grumpy. It would create chaos in the streets (literally). That said, it’d be pretty entertaining at least for a short while.

Have a friend who drives too fast? Send them this newsletter.

Join the conversation

or to participate.