Google Meet nose picker exposure

Putting the boogers on blast

For a while, I thought I had exhausted the amount of Google Meet concepts I could do. I keep surprising myself. Months ago I designed a Google Meet feature to turn on everyone’s camera. Thankfully, Google opted never to ship this because it would wreak havoc on literally any remote company.

For those who are unaware, there were mass layoffs at my job this week. It’s been pretty mentally and emotionally taxing on top of some other life things that I will be sharing more about in a few weeks. After being in a few particularly challenging Google Meets I decided it was time to dive back in on a concept.

Google is introducing more and more face filters, which signals that they are improving their facial recognition tech a lot. In theory, if they had enough data, they could preemptively detect nose-picking based on your past activity.

If they could detect this, imagine what would happen if they prompted the meeting administrator and allowed them to A) pin your video and B) turn on your camera with no warning. It would be shameful but probably a lil funny too.

Have a friend who picks their nose? Send them this newsletter.

Join the conversation

or to participate.