Google Meet post meeting filler word recap

You said "like" how many times???

I recently noticed how prone I am to use filler words when speaking, especially when forming a thought. I hope to get better at it, but it takes a lot of conscious effort.

This made me think about how much the technology we use every day is listening to us. Google Meet, for example, is likely already tracking what you say to some extent. That being the case, what if they consciously surface that information after a meeting is done?

There’s inherent utility in this. A lot of people would feel embarrassed but also benefit from a tool like this in their workflow. However, it goes a bit overboard by prompting you to congratulate the person who used the most filler words throughout the conversation.

This as an opt-in feature would be cool, but I doubt they’ll prioritize something like this soon.

Have a friend who uses too many filler words? Send them this newsletter.

Join the conversation

or to participate.