Google Meet scale video size based on height

Short kings in shambles

I’ve worked remotely for the better part of 4 years now. In the last few years, I’ve regularly met up with people in real life after spending a significant amount of time speaking to them on the internet. One of the most common first interactions when we meet is “Wow, you’re so tall!”.

I am tall. It’s generally a nice thing. It’s easier for me to see at concerts. Statistically, I’m at lower risk of cardiovascular disease. Tall people are generally more successful, which has always seemed weird to me. However, there are downsides. It’s hard to find good clothes, planes are never comfortable, and you’re more prone to joint and back problems (according to Google).

This all got me thinking about how Google Meet levels the playing field since everyone is just a talking head. What if the video size was scaled according to your height? Tall people would have the upper hand, but maybe it sometimes it would invert and short people would have big videos, I don’t know.

Overall, this would not be fair, but it would be a fun gag feature for Google Meet.

Have a short friend? Send them this newsletter.

Join the conversation

or to participate.