Google Meets with commercial breaks

Back to our regularly scheduled programming

This concept merits a follow up image (see below).

Normally, I post images but today I pivoted to a 30-second video, so this concept will be a bit harder to grasp unless you go to one of my social channels and watch. Essentially, it’s two people talking on a video call who get cut off by a commercial break.

Google Meets is genuinely a great product and it’s wild to me that it’s free. However, it does cost money for larger teams and more robust features. I do wonder what it might be like to make it free for everyone, with the caveat that your meeting gets regularly interrupted by commercial breaks.

This is an awful experience for the user, but if implemented it could be a massive moneymaker for Google. I doubt they’d do this because they’d be shooting themselves in the foot, but if they did they could print some serious cash. I’d likely switch to Zoom though…

Have a friend who could use a commercial break in their meetings? Send them this newsletter.

Reply

or to participate.