Hulu ad quiz

Get it wrong, watch another ad

I’m currently watching Brooklyn Nine-Nine for the first time with my wife. It’s a fun show and relatively wholesome. My least favorite part about the experience is that since it’s on Peacock, we have to sit through ads and they end up playing the same ads repeatedly. I’ve seen the same ad for Otezla what feels like a hundred times, but for the life of me, I couldn’t tell you what the product is or does.

Commercial breaks are helpful because you can check your phone, grab a snack, or use the restroom. You can also watch the ads but who does that?

This made me think about the value an advertiser gets out of paying for placement if people aren’t paying attention. My guess is a lot of this money is spent with the assumption that it will “build awareness”, but what if there was a way to help people pay better attention when ads are on?

This led me to envision a post-ad quiz on Hulu where it asks you oddly specific questions about the details of an ad to ensure you are paying attention. The kicker: it plays another ad if you get the answer wrong.

This would infuriate customers but be a huge win for advertisers. The advertisers get more focused views, and the platform generates more ad slots when people answer incorrectly.

This is one of those concepts where I almost feel bad making it because I could see it getting built.

Have a friend who would fail this quiz? Send them this newsletter.

Join the conversation

or to participate.