iMessage group chat response limit

For the overly enthusiastic ones

Group chats are interesting. I’ve been in a mix of functional, temporary, family, and unhinged group conversations. Typically, one individual drives the majority of the conversation, or at the very least prompts others to engage. Even in an application without moderators, someone takes on the role.

I’ve often been in situations where a group chat sends hundreds of messages before I get a chance to read them. Usually, I just mute notifications, but sometimes I try and catch up with what’s been happening. There are other chats where I get a bit too excited for my own good. I might send too many messages too quickly and kill the vibe or just generally get overexcited. I’ve witnessed other people do this too.

What if there was a way to limit these people? You could imagine some sort of rate-limit feature within the chat settings where you cap the number of replies a person can send.

I imagine this would infuriate prolific texters and at times kill the momentum of a group chat. It’d mean less notifications though, which might be nice.

Have a friend who replies too much to the group chat? Send them this newsletter.

Join the conversation

or to participate.