iMessage one big political donation

To make all the spam texts go away

It’s election season. The implications of it being an election year are broad both socially and economically. I run an agency, and I’ve noticed people get a little weird when an election is around the corner. In addition to the general social unease, I (and likely many of you) started to get a lot of political texts asking for donations.

This is not a political newsletter. I’m not going to talk about any specific policy or candidate because I don’t have strong opinions and even if I did, I doubt you would want to hear them. That said, efforts to close additional donations seem to have ramped up a lot. I was working with a friend yesterday and he must have gotten at least 10 spam calls that were all political. It’s crazy.

This got me thinking about the political donation requests I get via text. My favorite type of message is when I get a photo of a candidate with a “personal” message as if someone partially responsible for running the world has the time to write texts to random people.

I wish there was a way to unsubscribe from politics altogether. This got me thinking… what if there was an option to make one giant donation and in exchange, you get removed from all political contact lists? You could not sign me up fast enough (depending on how big the donation required is).

Have a friend who loves talking politics? Send them this newsletter. https://sorens.beehiiv.com/

Reply

or to participate.