iMessage single "ha" reaction

You're not THAT funny

iMessage is jam picked with little micro-interactions. One of my favorites is the ability to react to texts. It’s amazing to me how 6 reactions are all we need to account for 99% of the things we need to communicate.

However, at times conversations can be a bit more… nuanced. A coworker of mine, Lauren LoPrete suggested this idea: an iMessage ability to react with a single “ha”. This is amazing on so many levels. It fits the existing design system/interaction patterns, it introduces a completely different type of response, and it’s so passive aggressive.

If this existed, I would likely be on the receiving end of this reaction a lot. I could try to argue that this is because my sense of humor is nuanced but in actuality it’s probably because I’m not that funny.

Unfortunately iMessage is limited by the screen width of our devices, so I doubt they’d launch this anytime soon.

Have a friend who isn’t very funny? Send them this newsletter.

Reply

or to participate.