iMessage stranger de-escalation

Defusing those tense situations

Generally, I’m a pretty agreeable guy. I like to think of myself as laid-back and easygoing. It takes a lot to grind my gears to the point where I’m visibly agitated (though it can happen).

I can’t remember the last time I got into a verbal disagreement with someone. This is interesting, as my job is primarily creating visual artifacts and talking about them with people with a high level of intellectual, emotional, and financial interest vested in the designs in question.

What can I say? I’m a chill guy. However, Kaylee is not very chill after finding out that whoever she’s texting was with Janet at Chili’s gasp.

People get into fights, it’s normal. De-escalating these situations can be tough though. This got me thinking… what if there was an option to have a “mediator” help diffuse tense moments in iMessage? Rather than exposing a friend who might be biased, a random phone number would get thrown into the chat with no context.

I’ve been thrown into group chats with no context by spammers. It’s the worst. However, catching strays while two people are duking it out via text could be pretty funny.

Have a friend who loves to fight via text? Send them this newsletter.

Join the conversation

or to participate.