iOS AirBomb feature

Redefining "blast radius" one meme at a time

This image haunts my dreams. I think several years ago a friend of mine was AirDropping it to random people when at airports, concerts, or other public places, but the memory is in such a deep corner of my mind I can’t fully recall.

AirDrop is a weird (but helpful) feature. I use it daily when sending myself screenshots as a foundation for whatever unhinged concept I make. I don’t understand what magic Apple does to make this feature work, but I’m grateful. They even thought through the permissions so people can’t send you random stuff. However, they can request to send you stuff which is almost as bad.

This got me thinking… what if, instead of AirDrop being something you could only receive from friends, Apple released an “AirBomb” feature where you could override everyone’s permissions within a specified “blast radius” and share an image with everyone.

I think it’s safe to say this would be bad, for everyone. I’d like to imagine people would share funny memes or cute pictures of their dog but I think the weakest link would break this experience relatively quickly.

Have a friend who AirDrops you random stuff? Send them this newsletter.

Join the conversation

or to participate.