iOS dim by 1% per 1% battery drop

Charge it or lose it

I am bad at keeping my battery charged. I’m also bad at keeping enough gas in my car. Sometimes I consider getting a Tesla, but then I consider that rather than solving the issue, I might forget to charge my car and end up stranded somewhere. Oh well.

Thankfully, with lightning cables, phones charge super fast now. I remember back in the good old days when my phone would take forever to charge after it died and I plugged it back in. A device that charges fast is a double-edged sword because it’s even harder to unplug nowadays.

All of this got me thinking about ways that one might disincentivize phone use.

What if your phone simply dropped in brightness 1% for every 1% the battery dropped? On a sunny day outside, your phone would become essentially unusable around 50 or 60% battery.

This was a super fast concept to make, and I doubt it’ll pop off because there’s hardly anything visible. Regardless… I believe this is one of the more interesting ideas I’ve had as of late because of the behavioral shifts it would cause. People would charge their phones more and likely buy a battery pack to take with them on the go.

Have a friend who never charges their phone? Send them this newsletter. https://sorens.beehiiv.com/

Reply

or to participate.