iOS "Do Disturb" mode

Ensuring maximum distraction

This week has been insane. I launched an agency and started shipping my coffee table book in the same week. Today, I’ll be spending most of the day in my garage packing and prepping ~650 books to ship out over the next week.

When you’re inundated with things to do, you learn to prioritize your time ruthlessly. This week has been a crash course of sorts. One life-saving feature has been “Do Not Disturb”. I tap a button, and for however long I choose not to look, I am at peace, able to focus on whatever task is before me.

This got me thinking about what the inverse might look like. What if there was a “Do Disturb” feature that ensured you received push and sound notifications from all of your apps and contacts at maximum volume?

In a way, it seems many people already have this sort of relationship with their phones. This would be the nail in the proverbial coffin. I don’t love this idea, but it would be a fun gag or prank feature.

Have a friend who is constantly distracted? Send them this newsletter.

Join the conversation

or to participate.