iOS dynamic scaling notification indicator

A compelling reason to zero your inbox

I made the mistake of recently sharing my phone number on an app similar to Angi’s list to get quotes for some work I’m looking at getting done on my home. I was not aware by sharing this information I would immediately proceed to get calls from what seemed to be every general contractor in a 50-mile radius. For the first week, I was getting upwards of 20 calls a day.

Thankfully the issue has since calmed down but I’m still trying to stay on top of my unread notifications (I try to zero out most of my inboxes daily if possible). I started thinking about ways that you could create a stronger incentive to get people to clear their notifications.

What if the notification badge got bigger the more unread notifications you had? You could get to a point where it eventually completely takes over your screen.

There are technical questions here about max size, how this works with multiple notifications for different apps, and also if people would just stop using iPhones if this feature existed. If jailbreaking was still a thing this would be fun to hack together.

Have a friend who has too many unresolved notifications? Send them this newsletter.

Join the conversation

or to participate.