iOS reasonably sized phone buttons

You gonna answer that?

Every few weeks, my phone gets blown up by spam. It’s gotten to the point where I don’t answer my phone by default. On the rare occasion where someone I know is calling I’ll answer, but if it’s a random number it goes to voicemail.

The iconic iPhone incoming call screen has undergone many evolutions since its inception. Initially, there was a simple “slide to answer” interaction where you had to… slide to answer the call. Since then, they’ve updated the design to buttons for answering (a green button) and declining (a red button).

I might be alone here, but I don’t answer 90% of the time. That being the case, I wonder why both options have equal hierarchy. What if instead, the decline button was much more prominent?

Though this would mark a substantive change from the existing design (and never get pushed to production), I do wonder if this would have any impact on how people use their phones.

Have a friend who never answers their phone? Send them this newsletter.

Join the conversation

or to participate.