iPhone camera detects blemishes

How might we make people feel bad about themselves?

Apple’s camera has improved drastically over the years. My wife has a newer phone (I’m still on the iPhone 11) and the photo quality blows me away.

A not-so-fun side effect of higher-quality photography is that you get to see all your flaws on full display. I took this photo a while back when messing around with a concept and realized after taking it that I looked TIRED. Thankfully I’ve made sleep a higher priority lately and the bags under my eyes are less pronounced.

This did get me thinking though… with all of the advancements in photo filtering and AI, how soon will we have OS-level capabilities to edit our appearance?

One short-term reason that Apple wouldn’t do this is cost. It is pretty expensive to alter photos with AI, but my guess is that this cost will decrease over time.

I think if we repositioned this and made it less aggressive it could be useful. However, I also think we should normalize people looking however they look.

Have a friend who’s photos need beautifying?

Send them this newsletter.

Join the conversation

or to participate.