Lime app with Hint of Lime™

Just a tiny little scooter

I lived in Los Angeles during the rise of Bird, an app where you could rent scooters and ride them around town with no restrictions. I can’t recall another time I saw a new product getting regulated so quickly and so harshly. During this time, a competitor product called Lime started to pop up.

Lime is to Bird what Lyft is to Uber. Healthy competition is good.

Last summer, I designed a concept for Big Bird, an extra-long scooter that could fit multiple people. If Bird is going to go big, why can’t Lime go after the “smaller” market?

Introducing: Hint of Lime™

Hint of Lime serves almost no functional purpose unless you urgently want to play with Tech Decks. These mini scooters and skateboards were popular growing up, though I was never very good at them.

While I see no real value in this feature, it could make for a great PR stunt for Lime.

Have a friend who loves tiny scooters and skateboards? Send them this newsletter.

Join the conversation

or to participate.