LinkedIn job comment section

See how other applicants feel

I found out a good friend yesterday got laid off from their company. It’s still a brutal market right now. My heart goes out to those of you currently hunting for a job. I had a conversation with another friend recently about a frustrating experience he had with multiple companies doing unpaid design tests. I’m thankful to be in a position where I don’t have to do these anymore, but I always thought this was a gross way to exploit talent for free labor. If you have someone do work for you, pay them.

This, plus someone tagging me in a post on Threads got me thinking… what would LinkedIn look like if job listings had a comment section? This would immediately out employers who run overly cumbersome hiring processes and people who try to get free labor from job seekers.

The toxicity of a simple feature like this would be wild, but at the same time, it creates a bit of clarity and protection for people who might not know what type of job they are getting themselves into.

I’m not certain this should exist. If it did, it would be quite entertaining.

Have a friend who’s hunting for a job right now? Send them this newsletter.

Join the conversation

or to participate.