Lyft customizable tipping screen

My mixtape is fire, you should listen to it

Back when I lived in LA, there was a week and a half when my car was in the shop and I took Lyft or Uber pool every day. Not only did I meet some interesting passengers, but I also met many very interesting drivers. Most of the people I rode with were subsidizing some sort of passion project, be it a screenplay, mixtape, or comedy career.

Creative passions are rarely profitable. Gigs like DoorDash or Lyft can be a good way to keep the bills paid while you pursue your passion, but it’s a very unforgiving (not to mention low-paying) job.

This got me thinking… What if there was some way for drivers to promote the work they are really passionate about with their riders? You could imagine an alternative or additional feature to tipping that forces you to listen to their mixtape, read a few pages of their book, or follow them on social.

This would be a pretty annoying feature, but it could also promote discovery if it was properly implemented. If drivers could share stuff with you mid-ride that could be super interesting. Food for thought as I travel to New York.

Have a friend who would 100% start driving for Lyft if this existed? Send them this newsletter.

Join the conversation

or to participate.