Netflix skip the foreplay

Make family movie night wholesome

My wife and I saw a horror movie in theaters yesterday. The family rest of us had a relatively young child with them, which surprised me, but hey, to each their own. This reminded me of the times as a child I would have to either 1) not watch certain parts of movies or 2) sit through an awkward few moments with my family. It’s not the most fun experience, but this feels like a fairly universal phenomenon.

This got me thinking about Netflix and how much data they must have about their shows and users. Imagine if there was a button or setting called “skip the foreplay” where Netflix could programmatically remove or omit scenes that were inappropriate when watching with family.

This is one of my more useful ideas. If I have to put on my unhinged hat, you could invert the idea and create a “skip to foreplay” feature that only shows the bad stuff, but this felt less fun and a little too bleak to mock up.

Have a friend who would use this feature constantly? Send them this newsletter.

Join the conversation

or to participate.