Slack cursor position

Figma for chat

For anyone who’s worked in tech, you’re likely familiar with the concept of multiplayer software. Google Docs and Figma have both normalized existing with a coworker in a shared file, even if you aren't on a call together.

As someone who values my privacy, I find this to be extremely anxiety-inducing. Even if someone is inactive but has the file open, their presence haunts me while I’m trying to design.

This got me thinking about Slack. There are moments when someone will send a message and everyone waits for people to start reacting with emojis. Once someone breaks the seal, it normalizes interaction for everyone else. This is a strange phenomenon I’ve now witnessed at more companies than I can count.

This got me thinking… what if Figma’s multiplayer cursor experience lived in Slack? Not only would this create additional chaos in large channels, it would also lead to some interesting dynamics in smaller group settings. It might also out the people who aren’t online much.

I doubt Slack would ever launch it simply due to how much it disrupts the UX, but if they did it would be funny for a while.

Have a friend who would panic if this existed? Send them this newsletter.

Join the conversation

or to participate.