Slack scheduled message visibility

See when they scheduled a message to send

It’s common practice for me to review emails and texts at the very end of the day. Sometimes this is at 9 pm. Other times, it’s 4 am (I am not proud of this). While it’s somewhat socially acceptable to send late-night messages, texting and emailing at 4 am is weird.

Thankfully, Gmail created a feature to schedule emails to be sent at a later time and date. This has been enormously helpful as I make introductions, respond to people, and send outbound emails. Sometimes I wish iMessage had this functionality, but that’s a conversation for another day.

Slack, a communication tool I use for work, has robust scheduling tools. This is convenient for reasons similar to email. I have had interactions in the past where people send stuff and it feels conveniently scheduled, as if they are trying to paint a certain picture of how their time is spent. Maybe I’m reading into it too much though.

This got me thinking… what if there was an option to see when a message was scheduled, unbeknownst to the person who originally scheduled the message? This would out people for misrepresenting how they spend their time, and ultimately defeat the purpose of scheduling messages in the first place.

The visibility would still be informative into how people work.

Have a friend who uses scheduled messages? Send them this newsletter.

Join the conversation

or to participate.