Tinder date accuracy analytics

Catfish protection of sorts

I left the dating scene behind nearly 8 years ago (I feel old). Since then, it’s become a veritable hellscape of pay-to-play schemes and apps that feel quite unhinged without any work on my behalf.

After a brief stint on Tinder, I was amazed at how wildly inaccurate people’s profiles are. There should be a limit on how old your photos are (this gives me another idea).

Unfortunately, there aren’t, so those of you still on the market will have to suffer through a few suboptimal interactions in your quest to find the one.

This all got me thinking about what Tinder could do to indicate a profile’s accuracy. Similar to Google and Yelp’s restaurant reviews, what if there was a “post date survey” where you rated your date on how accurate their profile is? This would be ripe for abuse, but it might also cause someone to think twice before misrepresenting themselves online. That said, I don’t think the end justifies the means.

Have a friend who’s been catfished? Send them this newsletter.

Join the conversation

or to participate.