Turbo Tax Ad Payment

Pay with you attention

This year, I paid my taxes on time for the first time in many years. It was painful, expensive, and laborious. My accountant and I typically play PDF ping pong for about a month before finally getting everything sorted out. I had been assuming my tax bill was going to be insane and thankfully it was just a little bit less insane than initially anticipated.

This all got me thinking about the average American’s experience paying taxes on platforms like Intuit TurboTax. For most people, a surprise bill can be tricky to pay off. Owing money to the IRS is especially bad because late payments accrue interest and if you avoid payment for long enough they can seize your assets. Thankfully, I’m all up to speed.

But if you did get hit with a big tax bill, what if there was an alternative way to pay the government? I’ve previously explored a tax now, pay later model, but what if you could watch a bunch of ads and use those funds to supplement your tax bill?

There are platforms right now where you can earn money to complete surveys, watch ads, etc. so this seems like a natural extension of those experiences. However, if this did exist it might be a little too popular.

Have a friend who’s late on their tax payment? Send them this newsletter.

Join the conversation

or to participate.