Uber Eats "digestibility score"

Are you sure you want to eat that?

For as long as I can remember, I’ve loved Taco Bell. Unlike most people, my stomach seems to be made of steel as it never caused me any digestive issues (though it’s a running joke online that eating Taco Bell will mess you up). I am closing in on 30, and my tummy isn’t as strong as it once was.

On Monday evening my wife and I feasted on Taco Bell. I anticipated no issues when I hit the hay that evening.

Boy was I wrong.

Something in me has fundamentally changed. While I won’t get into specifics, Taco Bell wreaked havoc on my digestive system over the next 48 hours. It’s unfortunate having to adjust your eating habits. Instead of the spontaneous Taco Bell trip, it may now be an event I need to plan and coordinate my life around. Oh, the joys of aging.

As I reaped what I’d sown over the past few days, I asked myself, “What if there was a way to protect me from myself when ordering Taco Bell in the future?” One can imagine an Uber Eats feature where food is assigned a “digestibility score based on past purchases and health activities.

While this might benefit the end user, it’s unrealistic to believe Uber Eats would ever go for this because it would reduce the likelihood of someone completing a purchase.

Have a friend who loves fast food? Send them this newsletter.

Join the conversation

or to participate.