United clap to deplane

Louder! LOUDER!

There’s a strange phenomenon that at times people clap when a plane lands. This has always been confusing to me. People don’t clap when I do my job, so why should I clap for a pilot? Regardless, it must feel good to successfully catapult a giant hunk of metal through the air from point A to point B while traveling hundreds of miles an hour.

This got me thinking. What if there was a feature where pilots could keep the doors on a plane closed until you clap at a certain volume? This would ensure enthusiastic applause at the end of every flight. It would also break some FAA regulations and make a lot of people angry.

That said, could make for a great stunt for an airline like Spirit or Ryanair that tend to be more unhinged on social anyways.

Have a friend who claps when planes land? Send them this newsletter.

Join the conversation

or to participate.