Wells Fargo log into someone else's account

If you guess their password

Happy Sunday everyone.

Sometimes I think about when I got hacked on Twitter last fall. It was so stressful and anxiety-inducing. Thankfully, I haven’t had any security issues in a while (though I hope I’m not jinxing it by saying that). I upgraded my security in many ways, but I won’t elaborate on it too much other than that.

Thinking about security, it’s wild to me how many people use super-basic passwords even with the popularization of password management tools. The word “password” is the 5th most popular password amongst users according to a 2020 study (I Googled it).

This got me thinking… what would happen if every password had to be unique? You can imagine on top of the unique requirement, that using someone else’s password gets you into their account.

After the inevitable pandemonium that would ensue, password quality and length would inevitably rise. While I don’t think you should let people access other people’s accounts, the idea of unique password requirements is pretty interesting.

Have a friend who uses super basic passwords? Send them this newsletter.

Join the conversation

or to participate.