Workday sick leave approval

Make sure it's legit first!

There’s a popular saying in crypto: “Don’t trust, verify.” It’s meant to communicate that crypto is great because instead of taking a financial institution’s word for it, you can use data on the blockchain to verify the validity of any transaction. I’m not a huge crypto person, though I’ve done a fair amount of design in this space.

I do wonder, however, if there are ways verification can be used within “Web 2” to verify information we historically have taken on faith alone. A good example of this is people who request sick days. During my recent years working in the corporate world, I have mainly worked at organizations that have unlimited PTO. This counts for both vacation and sick days. This is great in theory but in actuality, it means you either take way too much time off or you’re pressured into never taking time off.

If I worked at a company where sick leave had to be approved by a manager, what would happen if your manager could easily view your social media activity from the last 24 hours on sick days?

Initially, I think people would be made if this feature existed. Then, they’d probably simply stop posting on social. If they did continue to post, I bet a lot of people would be outed for trying to get sick leave after going a little too hard at the club the night before.

Have a friend who takes too much sick leave? Send them this newsletter.

Join the conversation

or to participate.